Student athletes honored at awards breakfast

Santa Monica College hosted its annual Student Athletic Awards breakfast on Thursday morning, recognizing student athletes across the entire athletic department.

Each student athlete is selected for an award, not only for their accomplishments in their particular sport, but for displaying high academic success as well.

The awards are hosted by the SMC General Advisory Board, which is made up of various community members.

In total, 17 student athletes were honored, with former football quarterback Alfonso Medina receiving the highest honor of being named the overall 2012-13 SMC Student Athlete of the Year.

Medina is only the second recipient of the award; former track and field standout Michael Tobin Jr. was the first. Medina will attend Weber State University in the fall, while Tobin Jr. is currently at Montana State University.

In addition to Medina, the other student athletes awarded were Brittany Bokobza for women's water polo, Alessandro Canale for men's soccer, Joselyne Ferrufino for women's track and field, Imani Holloway for women's basketball, Nicole Magana for women's softball, Jason Mallek for men's volleyball, James Alec Meyerhoff for men's water polo, Fatimeh Mohseni Pour Samii for women's swimming and diving, Juliana Nelkin for women's tennis, David Nwaba for men's basketball, Meg Pierce for women's soccer, Bradley Rava for men's swimming and diving, Daniel Redick for men's cross country, Jane Siri for women's volleyball, Jennifer Tobias for women's cross country, and Jacob Tudahl for men's track and field.